Stream / Download.



The second album from Melbourne electronic producer Aphir, titled ‘Twin Earth’, is out now on Provenance on digital and limited run vinyl.

‘Twin Earth’ is the follow-up to her 2015 debut ‘Holodreem’ and furthers Becki Whitton’s commitment to exploring the outer boundaries of pop and electronics, as a writer, producer and performer. The release follows a summer of acclaim for Aphir, having been cited by triple j Unearthed as one of “the next generation that are following in Flume‘s footsteps”, and lauded by Purple Sneakers and Pilerats amongst others.

Thematically, the album embraces the concept of infinite parallel universes, albeit with a different spin from the usual sci-fi trope. Becki says: “As I was writing the album, I was thinking about the quantum physics theory of multiple universes, and the idea that each universe represents a different decision that you made. ‘Twin Earth’ is my variant of that idea – what if a new universe was created whenever someone formed a different opinion of you? Each version of ‘you’ would have its own narrative, based on the how others see you”.

With artistry and expertise far beyond her age, Becki has been releasing music under the Aphir alias since 2013. Over the last three years, she has worked alongside Andrei Eremin (Chet FakerHiatus Kaiyote and Miami Horror) and Tim Shiel (Spirit LevelGotye) and in 2016 was flown to Berlin to perform in the AUUG Motion Synth Showcase at Music Tech Fest.

Becki also collaborates with many other Australian artists, writing with Denniand KAIA (who will be releasing her debut EP on Provenance in 2017), mixing for Eilish GilliganAnatoleXylo Aria and Squidgenini; and mastering Yon Yonson and Sandy Hsu, as well as mixtapes for Wondercore Island and TEEF Records.

California-born and Melbourne-based artist Goodieprovides the original hand-painted artwork for the ‘Twin Earth’ album cover and has also created additional artwork for three of the album tracks. The Special Edition vinyl package includes one of the four prints, along with a Twin Earth zine created by Aphir.

“Equal parts Kate Bush and Bjork … but no-one currently comes close”  DIY Mag

“A true one-woman band wearing as many hats as she can … infuses the emotion of Lana Del Rey, the poise of Kelela, and the quiet confidence of Syd but emerges a sound that is all Aphir”  Purple Sneakers

“Immensely passionate and complex … Aphir is an artist to watch and support” The Ladies Network


Aphir is the solo electronic project of songwriter and producer, Becki Whitton.

As Aphir, Becki has performed her glitched-out vocal soundscapes around Australia and internationally, including her performance at Berlin’s 2016 Music Tech Fest. Her work with indigenous singer/songwriter, Denni, saw her take to the main stage at the 2015 Falls Festival.

Aphir’s new record for Provenance, ‘Twin Earth’, sees the firm foundation of her layered vocal arrangements inflected with luminous alien samples.


1. Powder Room 01:04
2. Likeness 02:58
3. Golden Child 03:28
4. No Muse 04:11
5. Meteors 03:37
6. Rorschach (Interlude) 02:28
7. Too Well 03:46
8. Go Lightly 02:30
9. Deeper In 04:02
10. Clone 03:38
11. Cotillion 01:17


Written, produced and mixed by Becki Whitton
Artwork by Goodie


The album ‘Twin Earth’ was released as WW9.
The single ‘No Muse’ was released as WW8.

‘Twin Earth’ Special Edition included: Limited run vinyl, individually lathe-cut by Small Run in Melbourne. Shipped with full-colour sleeve, housed in plastic outer + Zine, designed by Aphir, including lyrics to all tracks on the record and original artwork + Original art print from cover artist Goodie (print will feature 1 of 4 original artwork pieces created by Goodie for ‘Twin Earth’, randomly selected).