Out From Under – Albums of 2019

Out From Under playlist cover featuring HTRK

My program ‘Out From Under’ on London’s Resonance FM pushes Australian underground and experimental music further into the ether – and 2019 was a phenomenal year for wayward and warped local sounds.

The ‘Out From Under’ Albums Of 2019 playlist is up on Spotify, and features (in no particular order) tracks from this collective of artists, all shredding conventionalism in some form or another.

  • Andy Garvey – Eternal Recurrence (Lobster Theremin)
  • Carla dal Forno – Look Up Sharp (Kallista)
  • Collarbones – Futurity
  • Corin – Manifest (Bedouin Records)
  • Del Lumanta – Preparations (Room 40)
  • Erasers – Pulse Points (Pouring Dream)
  • Horse Macgyver – Deep Fakes (Nice Music)
  • HTRK – Venus in Leo (Ghostly)
  • Jonnine – Super Natural (Good Morning Tapes)
  • Jorja Chalmers – Human Again (Italians Do It Better)
  • Knitted Abyss – Bad Lassies (Paradise Daily)
  • Laurence Pike – Holy Spring (The Leaf Label)
  • Makeda – Lifetrap (Nice Music)
  • Melanie Velarde – Bez (RVNG Intl.)
  • My Disco – Environment (Downwards)
  • Penelope Trappes – Penelope Redeux (Houndstooth)
  • Ptwiggs – Darkening of Light (Opal Tapes)
  • Simon J Karis – Parsley (Altered States Tapes)
  • Sui Zhen – Losing, Linda (Dot Dash)
  • Thomas Hardisty – Peace in the Plaza (Nice Music)
  • Wytchings – Neptune (Urban Cowboy)
  • Yunzero – Ode to Mud (.jpeg Artefacts)
  • V/A – Smooth Sensation (Body Promise)

Find archive episodes of ‘Out From Under’ wherever you get your podcasts, include Season 2 interviews with Fia Fiell, Ela Stiles, Tangents, Michael Kucyk (Efficient Space), Andrew Khedoori (Longform Editions) and Cooper Bowman (Altered States Tapes).  Season 3 drops sometime in 2020.

Image: HTRK