NEW MUSIC. From Japan to Jamaica, India to Iceland – The Fat Planet Albums Of 2017

Fat Planet is finishing 2017 in fine style this week, running through our Albums Of The Year. Getting them to fit in one program has been a herculean task, and the final contenders represent some of most innovative and original tracks being made around the world this year. Listen to tracks from each of these outstanding international albums on this week’s program and via the Spotify playlist below. See you in 2018!

(in alphabetical order…)

Baba Zula – XX (Glitterbeat)
– Coldcut x On-U Sound – Outside the Echo Chamber (Ahead Of Our Time)
– Combo Chimbita – Abya Yala (Figure & Ground)
Cornelius – Mellow Waves (Spunk)
– Ennanga Vision – Ennanga Vision (Soundway Records)
– Equiknoxx Music – Colon Man (DDS)
– EVHA – El Viejo Hombre de los Andes (AYA Records)
– FARAI – Kisswell (NON)
– Filastine & Nova – Drapetomania (Post World Recordings)
– GNOOMES – Tschak! (Rocket Recordings)
– Helado Negro – Private Energy (Rvng Intl.)
– Högni – Two Trains (Erased Tapes )
– Ibeyi – Ash (XL Recordings)
– JFDR – Brazil (White Sun Records)
– Juana Molina – Halo (Crammed Discs)
– Kedr Livanskiy – Ariadna (2MR)
– Kondi Band – Salone (Strut Records)
– Les Amazones D’Afrique – Republique Amazone (Real World Records)
– Melanie De Biasio – Lilies (PIAS)
– Msafiri Zawose – Uhamiaji (Soundway Records)
– Nina Miranda – Freedom Of Movement (Six Degrees Records)
– Noga Erez – Off The Radar (City Slang)
Sid Vashi – Azuma Kazuma (self-released)
– Sudan Archives – Sudan Archives (Stones Throw Records)
– The Heliocentrics – A World Of Masks (Soundway Records)
– WaqWaq Kingdom – Shinsekai (Jahtari)
Zombie Chang – Gang! (Roman Label / BAYON PRODUCTION)


SPOTIFY PLAYLIST: Fat Planet Albums Of 2017