Category: New Weird Australia

New Weird Australia, Passages

New Weird Australia is concluding its mission after five years in operation, and will mark the moment with a three-volume set titled ‘Passages’.

New Weird Australia, Rural, Regional & Remote

The final original entry in the New Weird Australia compilation series.

New Weird Australia, the NOW now 2014

New Weird Australia’s compilation, the NOW now 2014, celebrates the 13th instalment of one of Australia’s longest running experimental music events.

New Weird Australia, Sixes and Twelves

Sixes and Twelves, the first New Weird Australia compilation release of 2013, explores the guitar in all its varied forms and nuances.

New Weird Australia, Broadcast Four

A compilation of exclusive in-studio recordings from the final months of the New Weird Australia radio show. Features new material from Thomas William vs Scissor Lock, Pollen Trio, Seaworthy, Secret Birds, Shisd, Cycle 440, Emily Grantham, Gold Model, Haunts, Kevin Purdy, Nadir, Oscar key Sung, Abortifacient, The Sydney Radio Orchestra, Whale + Cheng and Yolke.

New Weird Australia presents Filthy Children at The Sydney Fringe

NWA presents a free evening of skewed live electronics, courtesy of the FILTHY CHILDREN collective – a hive-mind of creative and original electronic artists who consider the vast, sprawling backdrop of Sydney to be their studio, for better or for worse. Part of the 2012 Sydney Fringe, at the Festival Hub at Five Eliza in Newtown.

New Weird Australia – ‘Western Schism’ Launch

Fourteen Perth bands and artists square off against one another to launch the 2012 compilation ‘Western Schism’

New Weird Australia, Western Schism

The second in an ad-hoc series of geo-specific New Weird Australia compilations, featuring eighteen bands and artists from Perth in Western Australia.

VAGRANT #8 – Holy Balm, Asps, Major Crimes, Beige Abrasion

Celeste Juliet & New Weird Australia present

VAGRANT #6+7 – Per Purpose, Rites Wild, Doctopus, Craig McElhinney + Terrible Truths, Per Purpose, Gunns & Hamjam

Good Company & New Weird Australia present:

VAGRANT – a travelling gig series, a pop-up club-night with no fixed abode, an open-source platform for eclectic and experimental Australian music

Fallopian Tunes and New Weird Australia present Gloss Party

Stemming from their recent mixtape collaboration titled Gloss and Moss, the eclectic Fallopian Tunes label, in association with New Weird Australia, assemble a hefty lineup of Melbourne based electronic acts, of!cially launching the project into the ether.

VAGRANT #5 – Scattered Order, Dracopede, The Mermaids

New Weird Australia presents

VAGRANT #3+4 – Talkshow Boy, Scraps, Feet Teeth + No Anchor, The Rational Academy, Anonymeye vs Ambrose Chapel

Vagrant debuted in Brisbane in July over two nights, due to awesome coincidence, at the same venue. Programmed by Andrew Tuttle (Thursday 12th) and Ian Rogers (Saturday 14th), Vagrant’s inaugural Brisbane events brought a whole bunch of weird, wild and wooly Australian acts to The Waiting Room in West End.  

New Weird Australia – Real Time Arts Interview

In this new video from Real Time Arts, I talk to Gail Priest about the past, present and future of New Weird Australia.

RealTime is Australia’s critical guide to international contemporary arts. Our focus is on innovation in performance (live art, experimental theatre, dance, music, sound), photomedia, film, video, interactive media and hybrid arts.

New Weird Australia – VAGRANT dates & line-ups announced

VAGRANT is New Weird Australia’s travelling gig series – a pop-up club-night with no fixed abode and an open-source platform for eclectic and experimental Australian music.  Following its Sydney launch with GUERRE, SCISSOR LOCK and MAJOR NAPIER, VAGRANT travels the country during July 2012, calling at Melbourne, Brisbane, Newcastle, Perth & Adelaide.

VAGRANT #2 – Naps, Wooshie, Kane Ikin, Baba X, Zanzibar Chanel

This Thing & New Weird Australia present

Three new projects marking three years of New Weird Australia

Pictured: Emily Grantham – releasing her debut EP on the new Wood & Wire label.

Since its launch in June 2009, New Weird Australia has supported and promoted hundreds of artists at home and overseas through its compilation series, live events and other initiatives. To celebrate its third birthday, New Weird Australia is launching three new projects: an open-source, pop-up gig series titled ‘Vagrant‘; a new digital record label, ‘Wood & Wire‘ and an ongoing blog supporting video work from Australian artists, ‘Output Device‘.

VAGRANT #1 – Guerre, Scissor Lock, Major Napier

Our open-source gig series VAGRANT began in Sydney on May 31st 2012 – with a show celebrating the launch of the new label, Intercess. Founded by Marcus Whale (Scissor Lock, Collarbones), Intercess releases new collaborations several times a year on limited edition CD-R.

New Weird Australia vs Fallopian Tunes, Gloss & Moss

New Weird Australia and Fallopian Tunes team up for a compilation double-header.

New Weird Australia, New Editions Sampled

This compilation celebrates the conclusion of the New Editions project, combining a track from each release with unreleased and rare material from many of the artists involved – CAUGHT SHIP (Melbourne), BLAKE FREELE (Sydney), PANEYE (Sydney), TANTRUMS  (Melbourne), NO ZU  (Melbourne), KRIS KEOGH (Darwin), FORENZICS (Sydney), SPARTAK (Canberra), THOMAS WILLIAM VS SCISSOR LOCK  (Sydney) and STRANGE FORCES (Brisbane).

New Weird Australia Live Recording Series (Free Music Archive)

New Weird Australia has released a series of archive live recordings, exclusively via the Free Music Archive. The free download recordings, dating back to 2010 and 2011, are culled from New Weird Australia events staged during the period, and feature exclusive work from Ambrose Chapel, Axxonn, Forenzics, Scattered Order and Stitched Vision.